‘Tell the Bees’ by Craft Consortium Part 2

Morning folks,

I’m back to share my remaining makes in the ‘Tell the Bees‘ collection by Craft Consortium today.

Mixed media is really bang on trend right now and I am loving experimenting with the different mediums as it really suits my textured and layered look.  With this in mind, I bought some little canvas from Tiger a few weeks ago for only £1 each!  Utter bargain!

img_2551

The canvas is just 15x15cm and is a perfect size for mini mixed media makes

I didn’t want to put too much onto he canvas as I wanted you to be able to see the decoupaged ‘Queen Bee’ paper that I’ve layered for the background.  I’ve then stencilled a honeycomb image and, once thoroughly dry, inked the image using Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads in Tea Dye and Dried Marigold and given it a light spritz of gold ink from Artiste.

img_2550

Stencilling with modelling paste is definitely my new favourite thing at the moment as I love the raised image it leaves behind which you can then ink and experiment with

The stamps in the collection are so detailed and I love the bee hive stamp.  Here I’ve stamped it onto watercolour card using an Archival Ink Pad in Watering Can and painted it using various Distress Ink Pads.

img_2553

Once dried, I’ve trimmed the image out, inked the edges and secured it to the canvas

The sentiment uses the kraft card tile letters from Hobbycraft and is then double backed.  Before placing onto the canvas, I’ve wound some natural fibre and secured in place with some tape (which I’ve hidden!)  Caution!!  Be careful when using natural fibre… I managed to not only cut myself but get about an inch of it stuck under my skin (like a splinter) which I had to pull out with (craft) tweezers!  Ouch!

img_2552

The paper and resin flowers have been painted, inked and spritzed to create this gorgeous honey coloured finish

To finish, I’ve splattered some white gesso across the sentiment to stop it looking too clean and shiny and added bees which I made in the same way as I showed you in Part 1.

My last ‘Tell the Bees’ make  is this shaker card which I’ve matt onto a kraft card blank.  The background paper has had some hexagons added using gold spritz ink before having the layers added.

img_2141

I fully admit to getting over excited with the sequins and over filling the shaker element… although it looks like runny honey in a jar to me so I’m happy with it!

img_2146

Close-up of the background and the bees with their sparkly wings

img_2148

I just love the honey coloured-water coloured splotched paper in the pad

img_2145

The gorgeous bee hive stamps once again, layered over ribbon and gold washi tape

Before I disappear, I just wanted to show you a couple pics of my makes at the trade show in Frankfurt back in January.  It’s really lovely to see them being used in this way, although I will admit I find it a struggle sometimes to send off makes that I really love!

16179577_10155023631836095_7839024112582390410_o

Everyone’s makes were just beautiful

16179530_10155023631286095_9019635731110155485_o

The cards have obviously been looked at quite a lot as they are all wonky on the stand!

16300428_10155023630941095_640546539876765492_o

A fabulous sneaky peak of the papers!

I’ll soon be able to share some other photos from Creativeworld using the new Santoro ‘Kori Kumi’ collection which has some just gorgeous elements in it…  but as the range hasn’t launched yet, I’m keeping a lid on those makes just for now 🙂

You can find the ‘Tell the Bees’ collection in the Craft Consortium store on Amazon from Mid-March!

Oh!  before I nip off, if anyone is interested in a little interview/bio/write-up thingie I did for Craft Consortium, you can find it on their blog now! Hope you enjoy!

Right… I’d better get these pupsters out before it rains.  Have a good week everyone 🙂

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “‘Tell the Bees’ by Craft Consortium Part 2

  1. lindasimpsoncraftypieceofheaven says:

    Gorgeous canvas Heather and loving the shaker card too. Congratulations on having your samples on display in Frankfurt.
    Hugs
    Linda xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

