Mixed Media Tags

I’m really enjoying exploring and experimenting with mixed media at the moment and I don’t always get it right but I’m enjoying trying.

Having had some amaaaazing products for Christmas, my absolute favourite has to be the modelling paste as it takes your creating to another level and I love pulling a stencil back to reveal a raised image underneath.  I’ve found tags an easy starting point for this although I feel I  should start an art journal as the ones I’ve seen looked just beautiful and I used to love my sketchbooks when I was at art college.

img_2425

Various stencils have been used alongside corrugated card to create the textures

img_2394

The lace has been coloured using Worn Lipstick Distress Ink Stain and white acrylic before having the metal buckle added

The paper roses (From Santoro) has been inked using Tim Holtz Distress Spray Stains. I’ve used Spiced Marmalade, Picked Raspberry and Candied Apple before giving them a golden finish with a gold Artiste Spritzing ink.  The slithers of corrugated card were scraps from a project I made a while ago and I loved the different colours.  To echo the gold in the roses, I’ve hand drawn little hearts towards the top of the tag and scribbled circles in a few places to break up the pink.

img_2427

I love the green hues alongside the warm copper tones

I’ve become a bit of a fan of Kim Dellow recently and love all her doodling images she posts on Instagram (check her out if you don’t already follow her). Many of her images are simple but look so effective and I tried to experiment with my own. In hindsight, I would’ve doodled first and then stencilled but it’s good to make mistakes!

img_2429

Again, I’ve layered up textures and images to create this tactile tag that I rather love. The way the hexagons come through the modelling paste is heavenly… almost like I did it on purpose!

img_2426

Archival Ink pads, heat embossing and modelling paste have all been used on this tag

My third and final tag today, uses Paperartsy stamps alongside their JOFY stencils.  Having coloured the background using various Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pads, I’ve sprayed it with water and ground a little salt over the tag as this ‘splits’ the colours and leaves a rather lovely speckled effect.  Once dry, just dust off the salt!

img_2386

In my quest to use different mediums, I’ve used gilding flakes for the bird over a stamped grassy background.  Not all the bird has taken the flakes but that’s okay, as I wanted a ‘barely there’ effect.

img_2387

The central image has been made using modelling paste and then coloured using Distress Ink Pads and foam blenders

I’ve used the same two colours on the sentiment as on the top of the seed pods, Salty Ocean and Wilted Violet Distress Ink Pads.  I love the way the light catches the gilding flakes and the light spritz of gold ink.

I’ve already got another tag finished but that one is under wraps for now 🙂

Take care folks… have good week (but take a brolly, I have a feeling it’s going to be one of those weeks!)

Heather xx

 

2 thoughts on “Mixed Media Tags

Leave a Reply

