2016 in a Nutshell

Well hello everyone and welcome to my last post for 2016!  Scary to think how quickly this year has just zipped by.  It’s gone way too quickly for me… I’m still playing catch-up.

The new year is synonymous with reflection and contemplation.  People start to think about ways to improve their lives through resolutions and promises to themselves.  Personally I don’t think January is a great month to do anything other than hibernate in your craft room, putting those rich Christmas colours away (and all that glitter) and begin creating ideas for Spring makes with subtle ice-cream colours.

With this in mind, I’ve been looking back at my 2016 makes and thought I’d share my favourites with you.  I was meant to be organising my photos but I got a tad distracted…

This one

This mixed media card is definitely up there in my favourites of the year, it’s so bright and textural and I still have it as I can’t bring myself to give it away (is it just me that does that?!)

FullSizeRender 4

My altered clipboard kept me out of trouble for an afternoon.  I loved building up the layers and textures and then adding the embellishments.  The wooden cogs (from Things to Alter) give a great contrast to the metal discs (retired docrafts product) and they are held together with floristry wire for a bit of added texture.

2016 saw me join the Craft Consortium design team and Santoro’s ‘Kori Kumi’ was one of the first ranges they sent me.  I love the bright colours in this collection and the second phase of this range is even better so keep your eyes peeled!

this-one

Initially I found ‘Kori Kumi’ quite tough going as it’s so different to ranges I’ve worked with previously but I soon got into the swing of it and this textural make is one of my favourite makes for the company.

The complete polar opposite of ‘Kori Kumi’ is this commissioned make I made for a friend’s nephew who was getting married.

img_0312

The docrafts ‘Oyster Blush’ is so easy to design with it’s soft, shimmery papers, it’s my go-to for wedding and anniversary cards (and luckily I still have a shed load of papers from my docrafts DT days).

Tags are an easy way of experimenting with different mediums as they’re not too big and overwhelming. After I was bought a fabulous Gelli plate for my birthday, I ended up watching tutorial after tutorial of mixed media and I just wanted to play!  The bird on the tag on the left is stamped with a glue pad and then I’ve used a soft brush to apply the gilded flakes (from Indigo Blu).  Before stamping, it’s worth rubbing an anti-static cloth over the area to be stamped to remove the  static (I use a tumble dryer sheet) otherwise the flakes are a bit of a nightmare and stick to everything (including you/dogs/floors…)

The flower tag was lovely to make and it makes me happy just looking at it.  I loved layering up the stencils and stamped images over the smeared acrylic and then mark making with cardboard tubes.

15032317_1266077923463736_2987476821706557846_n

Craftwork Cards… ahhh… still one of my absolute favourite companies int he crafting world!  This card literally took me about an hour after the OH announced it was his Dad’s birthday and did I have a card?!  The ‘Man Made’ and ‘Vintage Backgrounds’ paper pads are so easy for male cards and I must buy more as mine is running low.

For those that have been following me a while, you will no doubt remember the considerable amount of Flamingo based cards I have made this year using both Stampin’ Up’s ‘Paradise of Pop’ stamps and First Edition’s ‘Paradise Crush’ paper pads.

img_0462

Paired with a delicate watercolour background and texture from a linen textured card, I love the simplicity of this design.  I should have made a Christmas version with a stag on rich, Christmassy colours but there you go… no time.

I went through a quick postcard phase in the Summer, making bright watercolour backgrounds and then adding stencils and stamps, all framed by a stitched border from my  old trusty sewing machine.

img_0128

I did intend on actually sending these to people but liked them as a set and intended to frame them.  I haven’t.  They’re still sat in a box.

Lastly and definitely not least, is one of my recent Craft Consortium makes.

img_1457

The ‘Bloom Beautiful’ paper pad is just stunning.  The sophisticated illustrations, by Shell Rummel, are delicate and soft, enhanced only by a small amount of silver foiling.  This card and matching gift bag uses the Floral Die Set from the ‘Kori Kumi’ range by Santoro and (again!) is one of my favourite makes this year.

well… all that remains is to thank you for joining me.  If you’re a regular reader, thank you so much for popping in (and for commenting!) and if you’re a new visitor, you are very welcome!

Have a happy and healthy start to 2017… catch up soon! x

15 thoughts on “2016 in a Nutshell

Leave a Reply

