Flamingo Decoupage

Afternoon everyone,

How is everyone doing on this blustery and wet day?  Luckily (or not so luckily!) I had to be at work ridiculously early today so am home in time to have an hour or so to catch up on a few things.

I don’t know about you but I tend to hoard boxes and nice shaped jars as I know they’ll come in handy for projects.  Last Christmas, I was given a beautiful Champney gift box full of goodies (all long gone now unfortunately) but the box was way too good to throw away and it was perfect for using the utterly beautiful ‘Flamingos’ and ‘Pearly Pink’ decoupage papers from Craft Consortium.

file-22-11-2016-14-22-18

file-22-11-2016-14-21-52

Having layered up the ‘Flamingos’ papers on the top half, I used the ‘Pearl Pink’ on the bottom and then set about using embellishments.

To add texture to the box, I painted some micro correlated card in a matching pink and smudged a pale baby blue and orange on areas before applying a quick spritz of gold ink. I then wrapped twine over some rather gorgeous matt ribbon before applying the embellishments and finishing touches.

file-22-11-2016-14-24-05

The decoupage papers were given a coat glossy varnish to seal and protect the papers.

file-22-11-2016-14-23-32

The resin flowers were also given the distressed treatment in the same colours as the corrugated cardboard.

I wanted to get an extra Flamingo on the project to tie it together and so I back him onto a Santoro ‘Wooden Frame’ that I had painted in matching pink and distressed with the same acrylics as before.  The sort-of-rosette was made out of the same decoupage papers and the  ‘Well Travelled’ paper has a fabulous copper text.

All I have to do now is decide where to put it.  I think I might have to ask for more shelves in the craft room as I’m running out of space (again).

Anyway… enjoy your week everyone and stay warm and wrapped up! Brrrrrrr!!

Heather x

 

 

13 thoughts on “Flamingo Decoupage

Leave a Reply

