Heart Shaped Box (little Nirvana reference there!)

Hello everyone (*waves*

I have a lovely little make to share with you today using the Santoro Kori Kumi range from Craft Consortium once more but this time I’ve concentrated on using the oh-so-cute decoupage papers.  Whilst out having a mooch in the shops a couple of weeks ago, I came across some MDF boxes in The Works that were waiting a bit of TLC and in desperate need of sparkle.

Although there were quite a few boxes to choose from, I went for the one with a cute heart on top as I thought it would work well with the Kori Kumi papers and images.

If I’d have thought about it, I would’ve got some before, during and after photos but my trouble is that I get too involved and forget!  Anyway… here’s the finished make:

top-png

The acetate top was just screaming out to be a shaker so I’ve filled it with red/gold beads to compliment the red/yellow papers and popped a sheet of acetate over it before decoupaging.

To make the box a bit funky and fun, I’ve made each section a different colour…

open-png

Once fully decoupaged I could set about adding the embellishments.

flower-detail-png

So I’ve used the super gorgeous Kori Kumi Floral Dies Set for the flowers, layering and shaping them for extra depth.  Each one was then given a bit of sparkle in the centre using Stickles.

back-png

To decorate the band around the middle, I’ve threaded buttons, pom-poms, pennants and the apple buttons onto sewing thread and wrapped it around the raffia (glueing where necessary) and attaching to the box as shown.

lock-png

The front needed some definite impact, so the little wooden frames in the collection were perfect for this and I’ve sewn on a little ‘Made with Love‘ metal heart to mirror the shaker heart on top and the two little hat pins I’ve popped on the side here.

bunny-1300

I didn’t want to leave Mr Bunny out so have shaded him in using alcohol markers and secured him to the top.

stan-png

Stan seemed impressed with the box but unfortunately he can’t have it as he’ll never be able to open it!

Talking of Stan (and little Syd) I’d best get their dinner ready and get them out for their evening walk.  I’d like to say it will be pleasant but if any of you know Dashchunds, you’ll know they don’t do cold, dark, wet, winter, blowy… you get the picture.  Stubborn little tikes!

Take care everyone and catch up soon xx

 

2 thoughts on “Heart Shaped Box (little Nirvana reference there!)

Leave a Reply

