Flutterby’s and Florals

Wow… it’s been a total scorcher here today!  The pupsters have been in their paddling pool again with some balls and I’ve been keeping cool in the craft room playing with some First Edition papers from Trimcraft.

First up is a box frame decorated using their ‘Birdcage’ papers which I’ve had a while and only used a couple of times (shocking, quite frankly).

IMG_0674

Pardon the reflection not he frame but it was hard to photograph anywhere today without a reflection from that bright sunshine everywhere!

IMG_0678

The birdcage die is from Xcut and the little flowers are Sizzix, layered and inked for more depth.  The butterfly was a free die that came with Creativity Magazine a few months ago but you could use any butterfly or a large bird would look fabulous too.

IMG_0675

I’ve layered washi tape the outside of the main frame area and layered up elements of the paper pack so it doesn’t look so square and regimented and added a handful of adhesive gems for added sparkle!

My second project is a floral hanger using ‘Pretty Posy’ papers which are soon delicate and beautiful,although I have distressed them up a bit (in my usual style) as I can’t resist a bit of texture or ink on my projects!

IMG_0662

I painted the cardboard hanger mixing acrylic paints to match the blue in the papers. When dry, I’ve stencilled Tim Holtz’s ‘Doily’ stencil in white acrylic and added faux stitching in white gel pen just to give the back some attention as I don’t like to leave them plain.  Once dry, I’ve painted matt glaze over the entire hanger to secure the paint and give it a good base.

IMG_0683

After trimming papers to layer up, I’ve die cut into the top layer using Tim Holtz’s ‘Mixed media’ dies and spritzed gold ink over uncut the middle section.

IMG_0666

IMG_0669

When dry, I’ve secured a scalloped layered circle with the sentiment attached (again, another Creativity freebie!) and added adhesive gems around the edge.

IMG_0664

The cute tulip comes from Sizzix (in the same range as the previous florals) and just perches atop a layered strips of paper and twine.

I love First Edition paper pads.  The quality is also exceptional and the illustrations beautiful and they are so brilliantly priced.

I’ve already got my next make drying out in the sunshine and this time I’m using some rather fantastic Craftwork Cards papers… which I’m a teensy tiny bit excited about!!

See you next time, Heather x

 

4 thoughts on “Flutterby’s and Florals

Leave a Reply

