Be like a Flower

Hello again lovely people, hope you’re start to the week is A+… at least the weather is behaving itself for once.

So today I’ve been playing with Leonie Pujol’s new stamp set  ‘Everlasting Love’.  I am loving the stamps and I will have to definitely buy more as they’re lovely and quirky and today I wanted to use them for a mixed media project.

The background is watercolours believe it or not and I kept them nice and bright.  As they were drying, I’ve spritzed on a small amount of gold ink to give it a bit of shimmer.  The stencils have then been layered up in acrylic, distress ink and heat emboss powder to all give different textures and I’ve given it a rough heat emboss border to really accentuate the colours.

File 26-07-2016, 17 32 58

The background before I added the acrylic shapes and tissue paper text.

Whilst drying, I’ve used Stazon in black to stamp the flower images onto watercolour card. Having coloured them in using watercolours, I’ve cut them out carefully (it is a bit fiddly in places so go careful) and highlighted the centre of the flower using glossy accents.

 

File 26-07-2016, 17 23 16

I’ve used a white gel pen to dot lines on the petals to add extra interest.

File 26-07-2016, 17 23 30

With the background thoroughly dry, I’ve adhered the flowers  and added the sentiment, which I typed up and printed out on the Mac using an ‘Old Typewriter’ font from font website Dafont.

File 26-07-2016, 17 21 09

I’ve backed the image onto a dark orange card, mounted it onto an A-frame card and hey-presto!   Card complete!

I’ve already printed them onto some Gelli backgrounds and will have a play tonight at putting something together using them.  Definitely check out Leonie’s stamps over at Crafter’s Companion. They are going to be soooo popular methinks!!

H xx

9 thoughts on “Be like a Flower

Leave a Reply

