Mixed Media Canvas

Hello lovely people,

I’m in the most fabulous mood today!  I’ve been ‘abandoned’ by the OH and the two pupsters for the entire weekend and am loving the peace and quiet and time to myself.  Gives me chance to a) catch up on the housework  b) spend all my spare time in the craft room and c) eat all the extra chunky chocolate biscuits in the tin.

As you might/might not know, I am loving all things mixed media of late and thought I’d have a try at making at decorating a canvas.  I had no plan as such, I was just going to see where the design journey would take me.  So I started by adding Pebeo Texture Gel using a palette knife through a Clarity Stamp stencil, Dotty Wave.  I’ve used the paste quite thick as I wanted quite a deep texture.

IMG_0029

The texture paste goes on easily, even through the stencil

Whilst the paste was drying, I added various wooden shapes from Things to Alter.  I chose flowers and cogs (as I thought they compliment each other) and also some sequin shapes, a felt frame and a couple of hat pins (as you do!)

I’ve then applied Artiste acrylic paint in ‘Sea Spray’, ‘Lagoon’ (and white) as well as  Artiste ‘Electric Blue’ and ‘Gold’ Spritzing Inks alongside Tim Holtz’s Distress Spray Inks in ‘Peacock Feathers’ and ‘Picket Fence’.  Both types of spritzing inks are very different and the Artiste ones have a subtle sheen to them, which can be useful.  The copper acrylic adds a gentle warmth to the canvas and highlights the edges of the shapes.

IMG_0045

The copper acrylic paint was applied to the edges of the shapes using a finger and a small make-up sponge

The small wooden frame is a Dovecraft frame that I’ve turned over and painted to blend in.  I’ve echoed the cogs by embossing onto silver card and highlighting the cogs using a heat emboss powder.

IMG_0052

To take away the harshness of the frame edge, Santoro paper flowers were added along with a gorgeous brad, also from Santoro.

And here’s the finished canvas:

 

File 04-06-2016, 16 31 49

Not too bad for a first attempt although there are definitely things I would do differently next time.

Thank you for popping by… I’m off to clean up and start again!

Heather xx

 

6 thoughts on “Mixed Media Canvas

Leave a Reply

