Mixed Media Tag

Afternoon everyone,

Today I’ve been devouring the new issue of Craft Stamper magazine, which is my favourite crafty magazine of late.  The projects really inspire me and I love the way the designers are able to mix media and make it look so simple… because it really isn’t!

I found, in the March issue, a beautiful tag by Anneke De Clerck.  The colours are just beautiful, sky blue, a teal and a scrumptious lime green mixed with a vibrant orange and a pale pink. Having really struggled with a lack of mojo lately, I thought I’d have a go at my own version of it her tag.

File 06-04-2016, 15 48 06

I trimmed a tag from textured black card and wiped white acrylic over the surface.  I then added Artiste Acrylics in Guava and Lush Pink and misted them with water so the colours would run down the tag.  When dry, I added a light spritz of Artiste Gold Spritzing Ink.

Once dry, Papermania’s ‘Musicality’  stamps were added.  The corner design was added using a heat resist technique.  I stamped the image using an embossing stamp pad and then sprinkled over WOW’s Opaque Bright White embossing powder.  Tim Holtz’s ‘Dusty Concord’ Distress Ink Pad was then sponged over the design and then  gently rubbed off the white image using a soft cloth.  Small polka dots were then stencilled using Artiste Acrylic in Lagoon to contrast with the warmer colours.

File 06-04-2016, 15 50 32

To keep with the music theme, I’ve added strips of old music papers and stamped over Kaisercrafts ‘Tiny Dots’ in ‘Picked Raspberry’ from Tim Holtz.

The large white circles are the end of a twine reel dipped in white acrylic.  The gold hand drawn centres have been added using a Gelly Roll gel pen, which just glides on.

File 06-04-2016, 15 47 52

Craft Asylum flowers have been stamped using Tim Holtz’s Distress Ink Pads.  The larger flower is stamped in ‘Wild Honey’ and ‘ Squeezed Lemonade’ and the small tulip in ‘Worn Lipstick’ and Dried Marigold’ with ‘Crushed Olive’, ‘Mowed Lawn’ and ‘Shabby Shutters’ painted on to make the stalks. To add a different texture to the flowers and add some shine, I’ve coated them in Ranger’s ‘Glossy Accents’.

To finish, I’ve added a ‘For You’ sentiment and iridescent ribbons have been added to the tag and tied together with some yellow twine.

I’m rather liking the finished tag… not too shabby all considering!  You have to check out the Craft Stamper Blog for lots of inspiration and their monthly challenge.  Note to self: must get subscription to Craft Stamper magazine ASAP!!

Take care everyone and enjoy your crafting.

Heather x

 

12 thoughts on “Mixed Media Tag

Leave a Reply

