Mixed Media Make

Morning all,

Just the one card to share today and I have to admit that I think it’s my new favourite card (for the moment anyway!)

File 16-01-2016, 17 09 14

A 7×7″ card blank has been used for this make and I began by stencilling the background using Tim Holtz and Sheena Douglas stencils.  Fairly light distress inks were used to begin with; Spun Sugar, Tattered Rose, Squeezed Lemonade and Lilac before moving onto Worn Lipstick and Vintage Photo.

File 16-01-2016, 17 09 40

You can see the stencils peeking through the overlaid inked tissue paper and the spritzing ink.

File 16-01-2016, 17 10 18

I’ve added an old Visible Image butterfly stamp to the corner using a mix of inks ranging from a dark blue to a purple to this lighter metallic blue.

File 16-01-2016, 17 10 54

Lastly,  the main focal point has been to the card.  I love adding texture to my makes and saved some small corrugated card I found in a box of crackers for cheese at Christmas! Having painted it in three different acrylic paints, I added the loose hemp square and ribbon before winding round bakers twine. The feathers are embossed using the A4 Peacock Feather embossing folder from Xcut and are cut using the Feather dies also from Xcut.

I’ve used the same acrylics as on the corrugated card and poked them through the twine.  To finish, a painted little MDF bird has been secured atop the pennant!

I just love the bright and cheeriness of the finished card… I’m tempted to pop it in a frame and hang it in the craft room!

Catch you next time!

H xx

 

5 thoughts on “Mixed Media Make

Leave a Reply

