Happiness to you all…

Welcome everyone to a brand spanking new year and I’m hoping it will be a fabulous one!

So how was your Christmas and new year?  Mine was busy, working at the ‘proper’ job with just Christmas Day itself off but it was okay, I didn’t overly mind (well, I did a bit but hey ho) and working New Year Eve was actually good fun!  As I work at a central London location by the Thames, our station is one of the main stations for the fireworks on NYE so despite being busy, we close the station at 11.30pm, make a quick cuppa and run up on Hungerford Bridge for a top view of London and the crowds… and the fireworks were AMAZING!!

IMG_8910 [6340]

The night view looking east from the bridge is stunning and the picture doesn’t do it justice.

IMG_8897 [6338]

Look at all those people!!

IMG_8908 [6339]

And a silly selfie with a couple of my lovely work friends 🙂

Anyway… down to the proper business of papercraft!  So, I’ve felt a bit stale over the past few weeks.  Definitely felt inspired but just no time and I wanted to squeeze in a couple of quick makes just to settle the bubbling feeling I get when I can’t craft!

Happiness 1

I’ve spritzed gold ink on the cardblank and then used stencils to add colour before adding the sentiments (courtesy of Tim Holtz ‘Big Chat’ pad).

Happiness 2

The sentiments have been edged with ‘Spun Sugar’ Distress Ink and backed onto matt gold card.  I’ve then scattered pink adhesive gems and added a stray button.

Happy 1

A different but same feel to this one.  Spritzed with Artiste ‘Black Night’ ink, and over stencilled using ‘Tumbled Glass’ Distress Ink Pad, I’ve wrapped wire and used an old docrafts tape to secure the rings together.

Happy 2

The sentiments came free in a papercraft magazine a while ago and I love their simplicity which echoes both cards.  Finished with a hand drawn border, I love the finished makes.  Who knows… maybe I’ll get to grips with clean and simple makes this year!

And with that, I’m off to work.  It’s so dark here already today and it’s only just after lunch!  Miserable day but would be perfect for crafting!  Grrrrr!

H x

14 thoughts on “Happiness to you all…

  1. Jade Morrison says:

    Hello Heather, wow these really do look affective. love them both, love your pictures, it’s been a long long time since I was in London on NYE.

    Jade

    Like

    • Heather Mitchell says:

      I wish it had been a long time since I was in London! Haha! The fireworks wee fab and the first time I’ve seen them ‘live’ so-to-speak. Well worth working a long shift to get free fireworks! X

      Like

  2. Clare Allen says:

    Great cards Heather! I love the doodled edges. I have tried that but they always seem to look messy rather than stylish like yours. Some practice is in order I think! Happy New Year! Clur x

    Like

Leave a Reply

