Last of the Christmas Makes

Hello you lovely lot and thank you for reading my sporadic blog!  It’s been a while but I’m back with the last of my Christmas makes and I think I’ve saved the best until last!

The last docrafts DT kit, was full of gorgeous goodies and in particular I loved all the Bare Basic products.  These can be used for literally anything and are so adaptable, I just love them!   What caught me eye first was the Bare Basic Large Matchboxes and I thought they’d look great for little table presents.

IMG_8655

Each match box was decorated using a different paper range

File 25-11-2015, 23 19 54

The Stags head box is decorated using the ‘Pocketful of Posies’ range by docrafts

The first matchbox uses  traditional colours and as I have fallen for all the Stag imagery this year, I had to sneak one in there!

File 25-11-2015, 23 20 41

Docrafts ‘Jolly Santa’ range was used for this make

For this jolly box, the Bare Basic ‘Ho-Ho-Ho’ was painted in Gold Artiste Acrylic and then spritzed with ‘Electric Blue’ spritzing ink.  Once dry, the edges have been inked using a chocolate ink pad and I’ve added a few adhesive gems for a bit of sparkle.

File 25-11-2015, 23 19 28

The modern and bright ‘Folk Christmas’ was used for my last matchbox

I had great fun decorating this last box.  The main box is simple, just layer up the Folk Christmas papers but I had real fun with the Bare Basic snowflake and the berries.

File 25-11-2015, 23 18 30

The ‘Create Christmas- Decorative Berries’ have been dunked in pink acrylic and left to drip dry.  When nearly dry I’ve dusted them in fine glitter, again, for added Christmas sparkle!  The Wooden snowflake shape has also been given a good coating of turquoise acrylic, had ink added to the edges and then iridescent glitter glue had been dabbed on.  As you can see, this box is for my Mum and I’ve nestled a little something in it!

Now for something totally different…

This last make is one of my favourite Christmas card makes this year.  I love both of the Xcut sets and they make such wonderful, traditional cards but I thought I’d combine them to make a really special card for someone.

IMG_8714

The gorgeous Xcut ‘Georgian Door’ die is used for the front of the card and the fabulous ‘Christmas Fireplace’ has been used inside.

IMG_8704

Glitter glue has been added to give a frosty effect

IMG_8705

The door has been left ‘ajar’ so you can peep through

I’ve given the ‘house’ a splash of gold spritzing ink to add a bit of texture as I didn’t want it to look too plain and embossed the topiary trees to also add a bit of extra texture.

IMG_8724

The topiary tree has had a dab of gold ink dabbed on as well as a frosting of glitter glue

IMG_8712

The inside of the card is a traditional, warm and snug Christmas setting

I think I’d like to curl up beside that fire with a good book, a mince pie and maybe a glass of something fizzy!

And I guess it’s time to put away the glitter glue, the fine glitter and the Christmas stamps and papers for another year.  Honestly, where has the year gone?  All that remains is to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a super crafty new year!!  Enjoy the holidays everyone and I’ll see you in the new year.

Happy Christmas!!

6 thoughts on “Last of the Christmas Makes

Leave a Reply

