Enjoy the Journey!

Hello there my lovely crafters!

After suffering from ‘lack of mojo’ a bit recently, it has returned with gusto and I’ve spent my annual leave crafting away in my little room!  I’m going to attempt to share all my makes (well, the ones I can share!) over the next few days, before returning to work on Tuesday (boohoo!)

It’s been really fabulous being away from work.  Me and the pupster have had some lovely long walks and we’ve just returned from a beautiful walk in sunny Richmond Park where Stanley chased the birds, rolled in horse and fox poo and had a paddle in the pond!  After a good clean up he’s now zonked out on the sofa snoring away.

IMG_6493

Awwww… he does a good run in the sunshine!

Anyway, my make today is a hanger I actually started ages ago and put away and never got around to completing.  I won the papers (by DCWV) having a card printed in ‘Quick Cards’ on their letters page some while ago.  I loved the bright colours and it makes a refreshing change challenging yourself to using just two or three colours in a make.

IMG_6440

 

The actual base plate was a steal at a recent craft fair.  I picked up a couple as they were only £1 each!  I wished I’d bought more but as I’m off to The Big Stamp and Scrapbooking Show at Ally Pally in April I can hopefully pick up a couple more there.

I painted the base using Artiste Acrylic Paint in ‘Lagoon’ and mixed it with a touch of ‘Mother of Pearl’ to create a pearlescent effect.  The textured printed paper in the background has been spritzed with ‘Aubergine’ Spritzing Ink (also by Artiste) and then I’ve simply layered the embellishments on top.

IMG_6436

By trimming some of the flowers from the papers, I’ve mixed them with some die-cut Tattered Florals and sections of rosettes to add interest.

IMG_6437

IMG_6439

The sentiment is from A Tim Holtz border die.  On it are several sentiments and I’ve been itching to use it!

IMG_6441

And that’s it for today!  I’m off to grab a quick sandwich and head back into the craft room to finish something I started last night using American Crafts papers.

Oh and if you’re a social media type person, why not follow me on either Twitter, Pintrest or Instagram?  I’m trying really hard to post my makes on their too!

Catch up again soon… Heather x

3 thoughts on “Enjoy the Journey!

Leave a Reply

