Something new…

Morning everyone,

It’s great  having a week off… lazy, late nights followed by lazy, late mornings are quite conducive to my crafting as I like to burn the midnight oil into the wee small hours with my radio on.  Last night, I made these three cards and then spent an hour or two playing and experimenting with Tim Holt’z Distress Spray inks and got to bed about 2am!

Having had a break from crafting over the past few weeks, I’ve come to the realisation that my style needs a bit of a makeover as I feel it’s getting a bit staid and repetitive, so, inspired by the clean and simple look of some of my fellow crafters, I thought I would ‘attempt’ a few cards.  I chose the new gorgeous docrafts range ‘Simply Floral’ range and the ‘Into the Woodland’ stamps from Craft Asylum.  I’ve become a bit of a Craft Asylum fan of late and have been inspired by the lovely Katie Skilton’s makes.  Their colours are always crisp, clean and bright and perfect for trying to haul myself out of the January blues.  Katie makes it look so easy.  Her makes are always spot on for detail, colour and layout.  Do check her website out as it is very inspiring: http://www.katieskilton.com

Regular followers will know that I love texture, layers, ink (I like to use them all on my cards at the same time!) but it does take a few hours to complete one card and although I’m usually happy with the end result, sometimes a quicker approach to card making is necessary.  The CAS style isn’t easy to reproduce and I find it going against everything I feel ought to be on my makes but I’m happy to follow this path and see what results.

IMG_6124

 

I’ve embossed the card blank in each of the cards to bring some detail to the top half of the card and then concentrated on a strip of detail.

IMG_6118

The Craft Asylum stamps are so lovely and I definitely going to see if I can locate the rest of the range when I attend the Creative Crafts show next Friday at Sundown Racecourse.

IMG_6120

The wings on the heart are from a Tim Holtz die that I’ve had for ages but never got round to using although they look quite cute and will be out again soon for some Valentines makes.

I think, on reflection, it would have been better to using a coloured ink on the stamps or even heat emboss them in a sparkly powder as I’m not sure the black works very well… but it is trial and error at this stage.

Let me know your thoughts… I still think ink is needed (the cards look ‘naked’ without it!)

Have a good day everyone and I’ll catch up soon.

Heather x

 

18 thoughts on “Something new…

  1. mags woodcock says:

    Love them all ,but I think my favourite is the first one. I am trying to do a few CAS cards at the moment,but I find it hard not to throw everything and the kitchen sink at a card !. My new favourite chant at the moment is “less is more”.x

    Like

    • Heather Mitchell says:

      Hi Mags, I’m a ‘more is more’ kinda girl normally and I had to hold myself back from adding too much to these cards! I find the CAS style very hard to get along with as I love distressed/inky/textural makes but thought I would challenge myself! Your makes are gorgeous BTW, was nosing around docrafts galleries earlier! Glad you’re on the DT now, it’s brilliant and really pushed my crafting along. xx

      Like

      • mags woodcock says:

        Thank you for the compliment Heather, that means such a lot coming from you, I admire your makes and style so much. I feel like the novice in the team when I look at all the other ladies projects, but as you say hopefully I will learn lots and improve in leaps and bounds. I am so glad to be given the opportunity x x

        Like

  2. Katie says:

    These are fabby xx

    Im not very good with CAS I never know when the card looks finished but ive tried a bit,sometimes you dont have time to throw everything on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

