Designer For A Day…

Hello everyone,

At last I am able to share a couple of makes I did for PaperCrafter magazine when I was asked to be their ‘Designer for the Day’. They sent me this months free kit to see what I could come up with. I have to be honest, the kit wasn’t what I was expecting and definitely isn’t my natural style but it’s good to get out of your comfort zone sometimes.

The papers seemed to dictate two cards to me as there was both blue and a warm red set of free papers. I decided the first card should have a frosty themed/wintery theme and so I cut out of the tree trunk on one of the card blanks supplied, inked the edges and glued up the branches, scattering liberally with the iridescent glitter supplied to give the impression of a snowfall or a heavy frost. The wintery colour flowers I die-cut from Tim Holtz’s fabulous ‘Tattered Florals’. These were also inked to add a bit of extra interest.

Frosty Tree

Frosty Tree

The poinsettia papers gave me a bit of trouble and I found the cardboard embellishments PaperCrafter supplied too thick and heavy so decided not to use them. In the end I went for quite a simple card as the papers were busy and dictated something fairly minimal.

Poinsettia Card

Poinsettia Card

I haven’t seen the magazine yet as it’s not for sale in my village so I’ll have a trip into town tomorrow to pick one up but I did find this on the PaperCrafter website:

PaperCrafter August Issue

PaperCrafter August Issue

Anyhow… quick cup of tea and must do something other than play with the Pupster!

Happy Friday everyone! x

2 thoughts on “Designer For A Day…

  1. Kelly D Pink Crafty Devil (PCD ) says:

    lovely card congratulations on getting published with the magazine. I hate it when you receive something and it is not your normal style, but it is always good to have a challenge on your hands. Thanks for sharing with us at CBN
    Hugs
    Kelly- Crafty Bloggers Network -DT XXX

    Like

Leave a Reply

