Enough of this heat now…

Phew! It is ridiculously hot here in Surrey today, unbearable to do anything that involves moving… so I took myself off to Ikea on the bus. What a silly idea that was! What was I thinking?! Never mind, I made it back with a few goodies (storage for my craft bits!) so it wasn’t a totally wasted few hours.

I was up much earlier than I hoped today thanks to builders knocking down the school behind where I live, so I got up with the Pupster and started crafting early while it was still fairly cool.

Vintage Notes Decoupage

Vintage Notes Decoupage

The first was a Docrafts ‘Vintage Notes’ decoupage card that I think came with a goody bag and I stumbled across it while sorting out my papers recently. I was going to ink up the edges but decided to keep it looking fresh and sharp. I’ve used lots of 3-D dots on this card to raise the embellishments, and added some liquid pearls to mirror the pearls on the hearts.

The second card is made from scraps of the Docrafts ‘Spots and Stripes Festive Range’ that I have left over from some recent makes I designed for them (coming in ‘Creativity magazine’ in September!) I’ve used a teeny tiny card, just 3×3″,as I wanted to be quick today.

Teeny Tiny Spots and Stripes Flowers

Teeny Tiny Spots and Stripes Flowers

The flowers are cut from Tim Holtz’s Tattered Flower Garland die, which is one of my new favourites! I’ve roughly inked the edges in his Raspberry distress ink, and slightly curled the flowers before gluing. These were then all stuck on a small square of baby blue polka dot paper that I had distressed and then stuck it all down on the stripey paper. A very quick and simple card and I apologise for the not-so-brilliant photo!

I’m now off to see if I can find a way to cool down… wish me luck! x

Leave a Reply

