Wowsers… what a week!

Very emotional week here at Stripey Towers. My eldest left Year 11 on Friday and I found it rather more emotional than I thought I would! He’s been working so hard on his GCSE’s and I’m massively proud of his attitude and commitment to them… fingers crossed for the results in August!

Anyway… as it’s been such a busy week I haven’t had much crafting time but sat down yesterday evening to create this little beauty!

Ahoy There Dad stepper card

I am so loving the ‘Ahoy There’ range (you’ve noticed right?!) and can’t seem to stay away from it! I was lucky enough to win a Docrafts Blog Challenge too and had been sent a few bits to play with. I hadn’t actually made my own Dad’s Father’s day card so thought I’d make a stepper card for a change.

Close-up of the front of the stepper

The front of the stepper I made into the sea using the stamps and inking up the waves. After cutting out some of the detail on the ‘Ahoy There’ papers, I covered it in Papermania’s Holographic embossing powder, which looks fabulous and adds a gorgeous sheen to it.

I had already made the lovely beach hut a few days ago when I had 5 minutes and it was just asking to be stuck on the side along with some bunting poking out from the side. I’ve used Tim Holz’s Distress embossing powder in tattered rose for the starfish and my faithful friend the sandpaper for the sand!

Detail of the back

As you can see from the close-up, I’ve roughed up the edges of all the stripey papers and inked them to add a bit of worn detail. The fishes on the left are from Docrafts Creativity Club downloads and I’ve used the X-Cut Screw Hole Punch to add detail on the middle one and then heat embossed all three with the holographic powder as before.

As I had the height on the left (and with a crafty cocktail stick posing as a flag on the right!) I was able to hang the bunting like a washing line and string the sentiment up on the twine. The addition of a few buttons and a seagull to oversee it all and the card was finished!

Really pleased with the finished result… looks fabulous sitting on my window sill in the sun!

I’m off to take Stanley Pupster for a lovely sunny Sunday afternoon walk and then a make a quiche on my return! With any luck, I’ll be able to finish the other card I’ve been working on tonight and post it up later for your viewing! Enjoy the rest of the sunshine!

8 thoughts on “Wowsers… what a week!

  1. Kate Martin says:

    What a fabulous Fathers Day card – it’s awesome. So much to look at. Love the beach hut, the sea scene, the fishes, the sand – and that bunting on the washing line is fantastic.
    Just love it.
    Welcome to crafty bloggers!
    xx

    Like

  2. Clare-messenger says:

    Love this theme. It is super. It would go down very well in this house as my hubby is well into his fishing. X x x

    Like

Leave a Reply

