Nautical But Nice! (Stamps: card makers challenge)

Phew! I didn’t think I was ever going to finish this card today. It took me a lot longer than I expected as I kept changing my mind and the card has completely evolved from what I imagined the end product would look like!

I’ve had this frame card in my mind for a while and thought the driftwood style frame would compliment the ‘Ahoy There’ range perfectly. I roughly cut strips out of a long roll of corrugated cardboard I have and inked the edges and strips to give a worn look. I then wiped the embossing stamp pad over the strips and covered with Papermania’s Holographic embossing powder. As the powder dries clear you can still see the brown inks through it but it has a nice sparkly finish to it. I’ve wrapped some twine round the corners too, just to add a bit of interest.

Nautical Framed Card

Nautical Framed Card

The fabulous ‘Ahoy There’ stamps have been out to play once more although I slightly adapted the sign to hang the opposite way round so I could fit my lettering into each one. I’ll definitely be using them in this way again as I think they make brilliant bunting.

I cut out the sea stamp and inked with blue distress ink and added a couple of fish bobbing about, layered the waves together and added a lighthouse which I made from the ‘Ahoy There’ papers.

I was a bit apprehensive that the card wouldn’t stand up or might be too heavy, but I needn’t have worried as it stands perfectly straight.

I’m now off to get ready for another week at school. The GCSE’s start this week (my eldest has 4 this week alone) and my youngest tiddler has her SAT’s so I know it’s going to be a busy, stressful week in Stripey Card Land! Have a good week everyone x

Leave a Reply

